Where have I been?

So I haven’t been running. My Achilles caused some problems after I ran 5 Peaks Whistler in August. I dropped out of my 50k race in October, and dropped down from the half marathon to the 10k distance for both Beat The Blerch and Vancouver Rock and Roll.

It’s been hard and frustrating for me, and I have had the sinking feeling of doom with my weight since this all went down. I have gained weight, none of my dress pants fit. I feel some days like I am going down in a spiral, not sure how to get out of it.

But slowly, I have been trying to put one foot in front of the other and get back out there. I have taken a friends dog out for short 5k runs around the neighbourhood, and it’s felt good. I went out one day with my friend Suzanne and did 8k around Campbell Valley Park.

Today, I headed out to North Vancouver for the 2nd Annual Ugly Sweater Run with proceeds going to the North Shore Search and Rescue. I wasn’t sure I would even get out of bed and go, so I offered to drive Marijke as well… Accountability right?

It was cold, slippery, cold, snowy and did I mention cold? Thankfully I have a few pieces of warm clothing, so it wasn’t as bad as I thought. Gloves, Buff, toque, fleece running pants and an ugly sweater make for a good day.

IMG_0024.JPG

Alanna and I ran a nice relaxing pace behind the rest of the crew, chatting about how our seasons ended up, and listening to the jingle bells on the girls in front of us. We bitched about the hills (seriously there were hills!!) and discussed getting out to do some runs this summer together, since I always enjoy her company.

IMG_0033.JPG

IMG_0030.JPG

The baking that people brought was delicious, and the unfortunate cookies were awesome. Marijke’s fortune was probably the best.

IMG_0043.JPG

I did 2 loops, each being roughly 4.7k, and on my first roll of the dice won!! So I chose a gorgeous red Salomon hoodie jacket.

IMG_0057.JPG

Overall it was a great day. My lungs struggled a bit with the cold and the running, and my legs/knees are a bit sore, but other than that I feel terrific. For the first time in a long time, I remembered why I love running.

IMG_0042.JPG

IMG_0037.JPG

IMG_0040.JPG

IMG_0038.JPG

Leave a Reply

