Know when to hold ’em

There’s a song by Kenny Rogers called “The Gambler” that I am sure a lot of you might know. The chorus goes:

You gotta know when to hold ’em
Know when to fold ’em
Know when to walk away
Know when to run
You never count your money
When you’re sitting at the table
There’ll be time enough for counting
When the dealings done

Today, I folded my cards. I asked a friend if he wanted my bib for this weekends Chilly Chase 15k run, finally admitting to myself that it was not going to, in any way shape or form, happen. And as much as I know it’s the smart thing to do, the right thing to do, a small part of me is sad.

This was going to be my redemption on last years race that I barely finished. I wanted to crush my previous time and run it with friends instead of alone. To be honest I am sure even being sick I could still crush my previous time, but it’s not worth it.

I haven’t been to work all week. I am dizzy, headachy, tired, sore muscles and stomach issues. So why when I can’t go to work should I even contemplate a race?

2014 is going to be my year. I have goals set, and races that are once in a lifetime. I have friends traveling with me to Las Vegas for my birthday half marathon (love you Kendall, Krista and Jacki) and Baker Lake 50k in October. I could push myself, be stupid and never let my body heal, or I can be smart and not fall apart. Not doing this one race is not going to destroy my whole year, or make what’s coming up any less spectacular.

I have had a few people tell me I look unhealthy lately, and one remind me I am not like normal people and need to take care of myself proper. So that’s what I am going to do. There will always be another redemption race. And if not, so be it.

There’s always bigger, better and more epic adventures out there, right?

8 thoughts on “Know when to hold ’em

  1. It sounds like you made the right decision! Its one thing to be a little stuffed up, but dizzy and sore muscles mean you’re SICK. Rest up and get better. You’ll be so much happier if you race when you’re feeling like yourself.

Leave a Reply

