First Run Back

It’s been a month since surgery. So a month of food, sitting on the couch, watching Doctor Who episodes, some crappy TV, sports and not running.

Originally my surgeon said that I had to wait 2 weeks before going back to running when I talked with him at the hospital, but I made the choice to wait 3 weeks. When I saw him at my 2 week follow up, I was still sore and having problems keeping food down, so the decision I made was to wait a month before starting back out running.

I didn’t want to get my butt out of bed to run. As much as I wanted to be out there running, I was lazy, sleepy and quite comfy snuggling with Bella.

Eventually I got up, got dressed, threw on my brand new New Balance 880 shoes compliments of a gift certificate from West Van Run (if you are local to Vancouver and want a run on March 2, check it out!! Would love to see you there) my new sports bra from Victoria Secret and the rest of my gear.

I already had my route planned out, I was going to run 5k around my complex, 3 short laps and 1 long lap, in case I had any problems or couldn’t handle the distance I was close to home. The major downside to this route is that it is not flat, and the incline on the short lap isn’t too bad, but it goes for roughly .4km and I started out too fast. My lungs were burning, but my legs felt good.

I had to stop and walk more than once, which was a bit of a tough pill to swallow, but hey… It was my first run back. I was also worried that my stomach was in pain from where surgery was, and if I was doing damage. And then I realized it was the underwire in my bra…. But it was still a bit of a worry.

My last lap was definitely hard. Both mentally and physically because of the increase in the incline. I walked up a lot more of the hill and kept telling myself it wasn’t that much further. I will admit, each lap, each time I went passed the house I was tempted to quit. To say I couldn’t do any more and give up. But I didn’t, and that is something to be proud of.

My pace was slower, obviously, than what I was running before I got sick. But it was still a good pace when I factor in time off and how much walking I did. I am sure it won’t take me long to get back to longer distances or a quicker pace, but it will come in time.

The biggest thing that has come out of all this is I need to be smart. I need to listen to my body and when I feel something is off go see my Dr. Don’t shrug it off, because there is the chance of this happening again. I know my signs, and thankfully so do my friends so I have them to be accountable to as well.

And the best?? My bib holder Kendall gave me as a Christmas gift. All my 2014 bibs will be going in this and I am going to make the best of my 2014 race season. Set some amazing PB’s, run new and exciting races and push my distance to uncomfortable levels.

20131229-181713.jpg

Bib holder
20131229-182928.jpg

20131229-195836.jpg
And of course, we all need to be Powered by Chocolate Milk which is a great post run drink

3 thoughts on “First Run Back

  1. Yesssssss….. I love this post because you really did run smart, as you said you needed too. Recovery is so important and I love how eager you were to run, but how carefully you planned the run. Great job !!! Also love the bib holder….. um…. where did she find that!?!? I have often wondered how to display/save bibs in a nice way, and that looks fantastic and neat.

  2. Yay Doctor Who! (Um, I know that this post isn’t about that but still – DOCTOR WHO.)

    I’m glad that you were able to get out there and get it done. It might have not been what you originally intended but you were smart, listened to your body and took it from there.

    That bib holder is great! I have a cork board that holds mine but it’s pretty full at this point. I like the idea of the holder!

  3. Guess I’m a bit late in catching up on blogs but I’m so glad to hear you got out and got this done. The first ones back are always the hardest and you’re doing the best thing by just listening to what your body is telling you. They’ll get easier again and they probably already are. You have big things ahead this year, start slow and you’ll achieve every one of them!

Leave a Reply

