Happy 2nd Surgiversary to me

September 2006 – I weighed 450 lbs. I am not going to discuss my journey up to surgery in this post, but will down the road maybe. But it is not what today’s post is about.

November 14, 2011 I weighed 352.8 lbs

I walked into Richmond General Hospital with my mom, husband and cousin at 7 am and booked myself into surgical daycare. I underwent 8 hours of surgery in which my surgeon performed a gastric bypass procedure referred to as RNY and removed my gallbladder as well.

I was in the hospital for 4 days due to excessive vomiting and not being able to get up and move around. Nothing says fun like having your body filled with gas for laparoscopic surgery, not being able to walk and have it exit your body and vomiting over every small thing. I have never had such buyers remorse syndrome in my life as I did those first few days. Water wouldn’t stay down, and any liquid food was so thick I couldn’t get 2 spoonfuls in before I was done.

I remember being so upset and sad over how I felt. I remember being so tired and in pain and thinking that this was the worst decision I had ever made in my life. And I cried a lot. I would lay in bed uncomfortable and cry, not knowing how to deal with not being able to eat, not keeping food down and the pain of my stomach from being sick was beyond what I expected. Ok so I didn’t know what to expect but that was not it.

My brother, whom I talked with almost daily while I was in there made a comment to me that I will never forget. He said, “They tell you to walk a mile, you walk 10 miles instead. And you will do it, no matter how impossible it seems, because I believe in you.”

And I didn’t believe it was possible. When I started running at 330 lbs once I was cleared to do activity my pace was around 11-12 min/km. People out for a walk on the track used to lap me. It devistated me and made me feel like a fat girl that everyone stared at and whispered behind my back.

But I didn’t stop or give up, because I refused to be someone who people said took the easy way out. I refused to give up on my goal of running a half marathon and refused to let my brother down with believing in me.

My original goal was Las Vegas Rock and Roll Half Marathon which is this weekend. I wanted to make sure I had plenty of time to get ready and run this race and complete it.

Things change, goals change and I ran my first half marathon within 18 months of surgery and completed with a time of 2:50:25. Since then I have finished 4 half marathons and am following a training program faithfully to run sub 2:15 at Birch Bay on Feb 16, 2014 with Kendall and another friend Suzanne.

I look back at where I started, and think wow… 2 years went by pretty quick.

So here’s to 2 remarkable years, goals being smashed, and always remembering my brother’s words and how much faith he has in me.

20131115-222016.jpg
Walking back to the hotel with my Dad, husband and brother after my first half

20131115-222612.jpg
2006 – 450 lbs

20131115-222036.jpg
2011 – 340 lbs 2 weeks post surgery

20131115-222102.jpg

2013 – 195 lbs 2 years post surgery and 5 months post lower body lift

20131115-223303.jpg

2 thoughts on “Happy 2nd Surgiversary to me

  1. You are absolutely incredible! Congrats on all you’ve achieved and I can’t wait to see what you have in store next. All great things, I’m sure!!!

Leave a Reply

