Tempo Runs and Intervals

First thing first, I am not a morning person. So the fact I was out of bed at 5:15 this morning to do a 5k tempo with a friend is amazing. I wasn’t fully awake until the end of the run, and even now I am lazing on the couch in my compression socks wanting to nap.

I don’t go back to work until August 12 so I am trying to take full advantage of getting out and running, as well as working on strength training for my lower and upper body.

Yesterday’s 5k tempo was not good. It was already hot and I decided I didn’t need to interval, I would just run straight.

20130730-072144.jpg

Yet today, same route and I ran intervals of 5 and 1, and felt more energy, and that I could have run further and I was only a minute behind my pace from yesterday.

20130730-072344.jpg

I am still struggling with the fact I am not at a pace that I want to be at, but I also need to learn to be able to hold that pace for longer than just 5k. I switched from miles to km to make it easier to work on setting a pace with my running buddy for the Rubber Ducky Half on October 20th.

Wednesday will be hill training, and even with the heat I am going to wear my compression socks. And as much as I am loving my Nike Vomero +8 they are no comparison for Brooks Glycerin, which I will be purchasing as soon as I can. Come to realize when you find what you love, stick with it.

20130730-073907.jpg

Leave a Reply

